Adventures in Quilting

The projects and views of a new quilter.

Funky Frogs Tote Bag April 11, 2010

Filed under: My Non-Quilting Projects — Tonya @ 10:15 pm
Tags: ,

The last two evenings I worked on making my first tote bag. I found a pattern at All People Quilt awhile back, and it’s been saved on my flash drive for months. I finally decided to take the plunge this weekend and make it. I estimated it would take about 3 hours to finish, so I probably shouldn’t admit that it took me closer to 8 hours to complete. I’m still fairly new to reading patterns, and there are still lots of sewing terms that I don’t understand, so there was lots of ripping of seams and confusion to slow me down.

 

Now that I sorta know what I’m doing, hopefully it won’t take me that long the next time I make one. I never figured out what the pattern wanted me to do with the bottom seams to square off the bottom, so I know it’s not right, but it’s the closest that I got. Also, the pattern never really addressed creating a binding for the top portion, so I did that on my own.

 

Since I usually use this fabric for baby quilts, I was afraid it would turn out looking like a diaper bag or baby bag, and maybe it does resemble one, but I’m still proud of my work and plan to carry it with me to work tomorrow. There’s 4 interior pockets. I would love to figure out a way to make one outside pocket on my next attempt at this pattern.

 

Funky Frogs Tote Bag Funky Frogs Tote Bag Interior

 

Here’s the pattern for the Easy Breezy Tote Bag at the All People Quilt website.

 

I ♥ Comments! Share the love :)

 

6 Responses to “Funky Frogs Tote Bag”

  1. Mandy Says:

    Good job! I HATE patterns, especially the ones with limited or no pictures! It does get easier to follow them after awhile, though. Boxed corners were difficult for me to understand for a long time, too, but when I finally got it, I was like “DUH!” Good luck!

    • frogdiva Says:

      I’m finding that I am less likely to follow a pattern and more likely to just make something up on my own. I just knew that I wouldn’t be able to make a tote bag on my own.

      My mom is out of town for the week, but when she gets back I’m going to see if she can figure out the boxed corners. It could very well be that the pattern’s instructions are confusing, and she knows a better way.

  2. Beth B Says:

    good job! I have ambitions to make a bag eventually

    • frogdiva Says:

      Hey Beth! I have been wanting to make my own bag since I first started sewing last year. I <3 the Vera Bradley bags and eventually want to make some as pretty as those. Have you seen Rebecca McDowell's (can't remember her married name) bags? She does an awesome job, too. I guess she gets that from her mom :)

  3. [...] Girl Designs, Margo Handbag, Sew Thankful, Tote Bag, Wonder Wallet Last year I attempted to make a Tote Bag that didn’t quite turn out like I had hoped. The pattern wasn’t all that easy to read [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.