Adventures in Quilting

The projects and views of a new quilter.

Las Vegas Tote Bag & Wallet March 18, 2011

Last year I attempted to make a Tote Bag that didn’t quite turn out like I had hoped. The pattern wasn’t all that easy to read and seemed to be missing some steps. Shortly after that, I visited all of the quilt shops in the Las Vegas area and picked up several fabrics to make another Tote Bag. Fast forward almost a year later, and I never got around to making any of those Tote Bags…for many reasons, but the big one was because I was afraid of spending a lot of time on something that didn’t turn out right.

I’ve been reading the Lazy Girl Designs Blog for well over a year and always wanted to try one of Joan’s patterns. I don’t know what was holding me back. I even bought the Lazy Girl Wonder Wallet pattern at one of the Las Vegas shops last year but never did anything with it, in the hopes that one day I would get back to making another Tote Bag. I finally broke down and ordered Lazy Girl’s Margo Handbag pattern from Sew Thankful and got right on putting the bag together that evening.

It took me two evenings to get the bag and wallet done (probably because I am a little slow and inexperienced), but I am so pleased with the results. Not only was the pattern easy to follow, but the Margo includes color pictures, as well! That is just what this novice pattern reader needs! There was very little cursing, seam ripping and confusion going on in my sewing room with these projects, unlike many other projects I’ve attempted. My boyfriend even said that the bag looks like something someone would buy in a store…but maybe he’s exaggerating just a bit ;)

So let me share with you the pictures of my projects!

 

One Response to “Las Vegas Tote Bag & Wallet”

  1. Done a good project work .You have a lot of future as a designer.

    james

    Designer Diaper Bags Review


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.