Adventures in Quilting

The projects and views of a new quilter.

Funky Frogs Quilt As You Go Quilt August 29, 2009

Filed under: My Quilting Projects — Tonya @ 9:52 am
Tags: , ,

This project was a Quilt-As-You-Go that I got as an idea at Fabric Boutique. The idea is to use strips from a jelly roll, along with spray adhesive (the kind that washes out and is safe on fabrics…can be found in most fabric or quilt shops), your batting and binding, then sew it all together one strip at a time.

I couldn’t buy the kit while I was in Las Vegas in April because I couldn’t bring the spray adhesive on the plane with me, and that’s just too much to carry on a plane, anyway (as it is, I came back with 53 pounds of luggage from Vegas, thanks to all the quilt shop hops I did!). So I kept the idea in my head and did it my own way. It’s not technically made from a Jelly Roll set, but I did cut the strips as in jelly roll fashion.

The concept of Quilt-As-You-Go is an awesome method for me in making these baby quilts for friends because they can be made in much less time, because I’m sewing about half as much. It’s also easier because the quilts are smaller than most. I’m still not fast enough to make a quilt in a day, but this method sure lessened the work, which made it go by much faster. While I’m trying to make each of the baby quilts slightly different, I will probably use a similar method on the next baby quilt that I make.

I made this for a friend’s baby shower for her baby due in September, Abbi Grace.

The sample picture from Fabric Boutique:

If you are interested in the kit above, Fabric Boutique sells the complete kit on their website. Just look under kits, and it’s the third one down (as of 8/29/09).

UPDATE:  https://adventuresinquilting.wordpress.com/2009/12/31/funky-frogs-quilt-as-you-go-update/

 

One Response to “Funky Frogs Quilt As You Go Quilt”

  1. […] Gifts I have an update to add regarding a previous blog entry! Back in August, I wrote about a Quilt-As-You-Go quilt that I had made for a friend who was having a baby. I now have pictures of the baby and her new […]


Leave a Reply

