Adventures in Quilting

The projects and views of a new quilter.

Retro Dish Towels August 29, 2009

Filed under: My Non-Quilting Projects — Tonya @ 3:27 pm
Tags: , ,

This is the first post that doesn’t quite involve quilting, but because of my interest in learning to quilt, I have branched out a bit and made this adventure of mine more about sewing and not just quilting. I have a few other non-quilting posts in progress, as well.

I picked up these kits at The Christmas Goose Quilt Shop in Las Vegas when I was there in April. They were at the checkout counter and so hard to resist for just $5 with their bright and inviting colors. I found out after my purchase that they’re Mary Engelbreit prints, so that explains my attraction to them since I love the colors and designs that Mary creates.

I bought one to make for my mom and one to make for myself, but now that I have the pattern, I plan to make several more. They were fairly easy to make, but I learned from a few of my mistakes in the two that I made. I have never sewn with rickrack, and I needed to do a better job tucking in the ends so they don’t ravel.

But I suppose that’s what learning to sew is all about…learning from your mistakes and making the next one even better. By the way, this is the first sewing project that I have completed that I have kept for myself. I have a few other projects of my own that I am working on, but so far I’ve given away all of my completed projects.  I hope to find the time to make more of these as gifts.

My mom’s is the one on the right and mine is on the left:

The sample towel in The Christmas Goose Quilt Shop. I wish I had taken a picture of the kits before I put them together.

 

2 Responses to “Retro Dish Towels”

  1. […] is where I purchased the Snap Happy pattern and kit. Last year I had bought a similar kit to make Retro Dish Towels. I love the small kits like this and can’t wait to see if they have something new next […]

  2. Mika Says:

    These are so precious. Like you I am drawn to happy fabrics and retro designs. Thank you for posing.


Leave a Reply

