Adventures in Quilting

The projects and views of a new quilter.

Market Basket October 25, 2009

Filed under: My Non-Quilting Projects — Tonya @ 12:18 pm
Tags: ,

IMG_0193

 

Maybe it was a mistake in naming this blog Adventures in Quilting because lately it seems that I’ve been posting less about quilting and more about other crafts and hobbies….and here I go again.

 

Recently I made my second First Basket. I say it was the second one because a few years ago I had participated in making a Longaberger basket, but really I just helped the Longaberger basket maker…or mostly got in his way. This time I did more of the making of the basket with a little bit of help from my mom and the teacher.

 

IMG_0167 IMG_0169

 

The basket I made is called a Market Basket, and Donna Christian was the teacher. Donna has become a friend of the family in the past year, and offers several other classes in other hobbies like quilting, crocheting, sewing and pretty much anything else if you ask nicely and enough other people are interested in making it a class. Yes, that’s a shameless plug for her! She doesn’t have her own website, but if you live in the Nashville area and interested in her contact information, let me know.

 

IMG_0174 IMG_0177

 

One thing that I discovered early on in making my basket is that there is probably an amnesia involved in the process. The first part of making the basket was.not.fun.at.all. It was complicated, and I can best compare it to trying to dress a siamese twin octopus (because this basket had 15 reed pieces). I can honestly say that if it wasn’t for my mom and Donna’s help, I probably would have given up.

 

IMG_0181 IMG_0182

 

But once a few rows are weaved in, and the basket starts taking shape, the process does become easier and more fun. I just need to get better at remembering to push down the rows and pull the reeds tighter so that it fits together better.

 

IMG_0189 IMG_0194

 

When I was done, we dipped the basket in tea mixed with ammonia (oooh, stinky!) to tea dye the basket instead of brushing on a stain.Β The next day, we dipped it one more time to make it slightly darker. I really like the darker, more subdued color than the bright unstained color. It’s definitely more warm!

 

IMG_0193

 

While the first part was.not.fun.at.all, I’m going to make 2 more baskets before I decide if I like making them or not. I didn’t really like sewing the first few times, but I did grow to like it a little more each time. And thus, I tried out another hobby! πŸ™‚

 

I included just a few pictures from the basket making process in this post. To see all the pictures taken, go to My Flickr link for the complete set.

 

I ♥ Comments! Share the love πŸ™‚

 

13 Responses to “Market Basket”

  1. Debbie L Says:

    I think you did a GREAT job for your 1st full basket..I’m proud of you following in my foot steps….<3

  2. Donna Says:

    You did a great job Tonya on your 2nd, 1st basket!!! AND your writing and picture taking is wonderful! You have a gift girl in pics and writing… quilting, basket making.. Pretty much anything you try!!
    Thank You for the nice write up!!

  3. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by frogdiva: My Newest Blog Post – http://tinyurl.com/AIQ-Market-Basket

  4. Hi Tonya,

    Yes, you did a wonderful job on your first baskets! Who was your teacher and where did you take the class?

    I love your quilting and your blog too, just like your Mom. Great work all the way around, keep it up!

    The Wicker Woman-Cathryn Peters
    http://wickerwoman.blogspot.com

    • frogdiva Says:

      Thank you for the compliments πŸ™‚

      My teacher is Donna Christian, and she’s the Donna who commented earlier on this post. She lives in Mt. Juliet, TN. I will share your blog with her.

      I checked out your site and added it to my blog reader. Your baskets are beautiful!

  5. Kathy Says:

    Hey, I know Donna C. too.. she is a good friend.. and from what I have heard from her friends and students a great teacher…I am impressed with your basket.. love it love it!! keep up the good work..

    Kathy D

  6. Darlee Byron Says:

    Great basket making!! Yeah, it’s good to try several times to see if you like something well enough to call it a hobby.

    • frogdiva Says:

      Thank you, Darlee! I’ve now weaved a few more baskets and really like it. I think I just had a bad day on the day that I weaved my first one. I’ll be updating soon with pictures from my other baskets. Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  7. Amy in AL Says:

    Hi Tonya,
    Your baskets look wonderful. I encourage you to “keep weaving.” I love weaving AND quilting, and I can tell you…both are wonderful. Weaving is especially good for a “shorter-term” project. Not to mention they are awesome to fill your home with all sorts of goodies in them. Think of all the quilty-things you can put in your baskets! Organize patterns and templates, threads, fat quarters….make liners, bows, lids, and garters for your baskets with leftover quilt fabric…the possibilities are endless! Have fun.

  8. […] though I outed myself on Twitter and Facebook earlier for posting without proofreading my earlier Quilting Blog post, I am not proof reading this one now because I am just too tired to do so. Therefore, by posting […]


Leave a Reply

