Adventures in Quilting

The projects and views of a new quilter.

Funky Frog Hop Quilt February 26, 2010

Filed under: My Quilting Projects — Tonya @ 11:49 am
Tags: ,

I posted a sneak peek picture of this quilt a few weeks ago in my entry Productive Hibernation. The quilt is a gift for a friend who had a baby at the end of December. I didn’t want to write about it until I gave her the quilt, so the surprise wouldn’t be ruined.

 

Tristan’s quilt is a very simple block design, but so far it’s been my favorite design. I like the large blocks for a baby quilt, and of course the frogs are a favorite of mine. So far I’ve made two baby girl quilts, so this was my first baby boy quilt. It seems that all of my friends are having girls lately. Originally I had planned to make each baby quilt slightly different, but I enjoyed making this design so much that I think I’m going to stick with it for the others that I make in the future (with the exception of one baby quilt that I haven’t written about yet because I haven’t given it away yet. I’ll post about it as soon as she’s received it).

 

The one unique feature of this quilt’s design is that it is the ONLY quilting project that I have actually hand stitched the binding. My mom convinced me that hand stitching the binding is the proper way to stitch binding and made me believe that it should be the ONLY way to stitch binding. I found out really quickly that it might be the way she and her friends stitch binding, but it’s not going to be the way that I stitch binding. It took me about 4 hours to stitch the binding, which is about 4 times as long as it took me to piece the quilt. You can see a close up of the binding in the last picture. Thus, Tristan will have what is most likely the only quilting project of mine that had hand stitched binding.

 

How about I show you the pictures now? Oh, and I forgot to take pictures of the Signature Block on the back I’ll hopefully get one later, as well as pictures of the baby on the quilt.

 

The quilting process

The quilting process. The gripper gloves really do help!

 

Funky Frog Hop Quilt

Funky Frog Hop Quilt

 

A close up of the name embroidery work that my mom did for me.

A close up of the name embroidery work that my mom did for me.

 

 

I ♥ Comments! Share the love :)

 

 

6 Responses to “Funky Frog Hop Quilt”

  1. uberVU - social comments Says:

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by frogdiva: My latest blog post: Funky Frog Hop Quilt at http://wp.me/pvTDi-2p

  2. alice in wonderland Says:

    I’m unsure of my own stance on commenting. Sometimes I feel its shameless self-promotion for most people, but then at other times I feel somewhat guilty for consuming some fantastic content without contributing my thoughts to the topic.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Excellent Website! I wanted to ask if I could quote a portion of your Funky Frog Hop Quilt Adventures in Quilting and use a few items for a school assignment. Please let me know through email whether or not its ok or not. Thanks

  4. Ship Says:

    I had to refresh the page 2 times to view this page for some reason, however, the information on here was worth the wait. I loved that it is also really easy to read for the eyes.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Nice website! I adore a few from the articles which have been written, and particularly the comments posted! I will definately be returning!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Hi I reach this site by mistake when i was searching yahoo for this issue, I have to say your site is really helpful I also love the design, its amazing!. I don’t have the time at the moment to fully read your site but I have bookmarked your site and also add your RSS feeds. I will be back in a day or two. thanks for a great site.


Leave a comment